Memory Score, a history
and music project

The year of 2022 marks the 80th anniversary of the Leningrad performance of Dmitry Shostakovich's Seventh Symphony. The performance of Shostakovich's Seventh Symphony in besieged Leningrad on August 9, 1942 is a unique fact in the world’s musical culture, as well as a major socio-political event during World War 2. The symphony was played in the Philharmonic Grand Hall by the Leningrad Radio Committee Orchestra, conducted by Karl Eliasberg. In a way the performance was a final chord in the symphony’s long tour around Russia’s regions, where the Leningrad Philharmonia was evacuated, and the capital cities of the USSR’s allies in World War 2. Kuibyshev and Moscow, Tashkent and Novosibirsk, London and New York… The timeline of historic events brings together generations, and the documents of the past days, artefacts and research materials recreate a polyphonic canvas – the Memory Score.

The Shostakovich St. Petersburg Academic Philharmonia has launched the Memory Score project to commemorate the 80th anniversary of the siege premiere of the Seventh symphony.

To commemorate the 80th Anniversary of Shostakovich’s Seventh symphony performance in Leningrad

On the memorial day of the complete lifting of the Blockade of Leningrad the Shostakovich St. Petersburg Academic Philharmonia announces the launch of the new project – the Memory Score, dedicated to the 80th anniversary of the performance of the legendary Seventh symphony, which later was called the Leningrad symphony.

The performance of Shostakovich's Seventh Symphony is a unique fact in the world’s musical culture, as well as a major socio-political event during World War 2.  The premiere of the Seventh in besieged Leningrad on August 9, 1942 by the Leningrad Radio Committee Orchestra conducted by K.I. Eliasberg has been rightly called “the first volleys at Berlin”.

The project aims to preserve the historical memory of one of the most significant cultural events during World War II and to strengthen the image of the Shostakovich St. Petersburg Academic Philharmonia as a creator of true spiritual values in today’s sociocultural milieu, as well as to improve the interregional connections in the musical, historical and museum communities through cross-sectoral cooperation.

The project consists of three parts: an scientifi conference, a memorial exhibition, and a key event – the concert of the Philharmonia Academic symphony orchestra – the former Big symphony orchestra of the Leningrad Radio Committee orchestra – to be held in the Grand Philharmonic Hall on 9 August 2022.

An Scientific Conference dedicated to the cultural memory of the Leningrad Symphony will take place on August 9, 2022, bringing together WWII historians and researchers, musicologists, archivists, museum professionals, and cultural memory experts from all over Russia. The key topics will cover the performance of the Seventh Symphony during the war and its reverberations, the memorialization of the event, uncovered documents regarding the preparations for and premieres of symphony performances in Soviet Russia and abroad, and contemporary reflections on this memorable event. Information Letter

The exhibition in the Grand Hall’s area, which will open on August 9, 2022, will feature the unique collection of exhibits, many of which have never been on the show before: the original symphony score, Shostakovich’s personal letters, musicians’ personal possessions and instruments, K. Eliasberg’s belongings, as well posters, photographs, letters, etc. – everything related to the symphony performances in Kuybyshev, Moscow, Novosibirsk, Tashkent, London, New York, and, of course, in Leningrad. It is this Leningrad performance that will take centre stage in the exhibition. Thus, the exhibition will recreate the historic and informational environment for the unique event in the global musical landscape – the first performance of the Leningrad symphony in the besieged city.

The project also includes the publication of an illustrated monograph under the project’s name, the parts of which will be devoted to the geography of the Seventh’s performances and the social and political resonance the event had in our country and abroad. The book will also specify the place the Leningrad symphony by Shostakovich takes in our cultural and historic memory.

The final event of the day will be a concert by the St. Petersburg Symphony Orchestra, former the Leningrad Radio Committee Orchestra, to be held in the Philharmonia’s Grand Hall. The performance of the Seventh Symphony will be broadcast live over the Internet and on the radio. This is our tribute to the heroic deed of Leningrad’s creative intelligensia who carried through hunger, cold and bombardments the undefeatable power of art.

The project was conceived and is curated by Dr. Julia Kantor, Doctor of Historical Sciences and Deputy Director and Chief Researcher at the Russian Academy of Sciences’ St. Petersburg Institute of History.


09
august, 2022
20:00, tue
09
august, 2022
tue

The Exhibition

The exhibition in the Grand Hall’s area, which will open on August 9, 2022, will feature the unique collection of exhibits, many of which have never been on the show before: the original symphony score, Shostakovich’s personal letters, musicians’ personal possessions and instruments, K. Eliasberg’s belongings, as well posters, photographs, letters, etc. – everything related to the symphony performances in Kuybyshev, Moscow, Novosibirsk, Tashkent, London, New York, and, of course, in Leningrad. It is this Leningrad performance that will take centre stage in the exhibition. 

09
august, 2022
tue

The Scientific Conference

The scientific conference dedicated to the cultural memory of the Leningrad Symphony will take place on August 9, 2022, bringing together WWII historians and researchers, musicologists, archivists, museum professionals, and cultural memory experts from all over Russia. The key topics will cover the performance of the Seventh Symphony during the war and its reverberations, the memorialization of the event, uncovered documents regarding the preparations for and premieres of symphony performances in Soviet Russia and abroad, and contemporary reflections on this memorable event.

Information Letter

Project partners

General information partner of the project

Information partners of the project

St. Petersburg Philharmonia Title Partner
Grand Hall:
191186, St. Petersburg, Mikhailovskaya st., 2
+7 (812) 240-01-80, +7 (812) 240-01-00
Small Hall:
191011, St. Petersburg, Nevsky av., 30
+7 (812) 240-01-70
Write us:
Box office opening hours: 11 am to 8 pm (on concerts days to 8.30 pm)
Lunch Break: 3 pm to 4 pm
Box office opening hours: from 11 am to 7 pm (on concerts days to 7.30 pm)
Lunch Break: 3 pm to 4 pm
© 2000—2022
«Saint-Petersburg Philharmonia»

Историко-музыкальный проект

«Партитура памяти»

В 2022 году – 80 лет событию, навсегда вошедшему в мировую историю: исполнению в Ленинграде Седьмой симфонии Д.Д.Шостаковича. Исполнение этого произведения 9 августа 1942 года в блокадном Ленинграде, в Большом зале филармонии, оркестром Ленинградского радиокомитета под управлением К.И.Элиасберга стало не только уникальным явлением в культуре, но и важнейшим социально-политическим событием периода Второй мировой войны. Оно было и своего рода финальным аккордом, завершившим «путешествие» этого музыкального произведения по регионам нашей страны, эвакуацией связанным с Ленинградской филармонией, и по столицам стран-союзниц СССР по антигитлеровской коалиции, к берегам Невы. Куйбышев и Москва, Ташкент и Новосибирск, Лондон и Нью-Йорк…  Историческая карта событий объединяет поколения, позволяя документам, артефактам, исследованиям воссоздать полифоническую картину – Партитуру памяти.

О проекте «Партитура памяти», посвященном 80-летию блокадной премьеры Седьмой симфонии, Санкт-Петербургская филармония им.Д.Д.Шостаковича будет рассказывать в специальном разделе своего сайта.

К 80-летию исполнения Седьмой симфонии Д.Д. Шостаковича в Ленинграде

В День полного освобождения Ленинграда от вражеской блокады Санкт-Петербургская академическая филармония имени Д.Д.Шостаковича объявляет о начале подготовки нового проекта «Партитура памяти», посвященного 80-летию исполнения легендарной Седьмой симфонии, названной впоследствии «Ленинградской».

Исполнение Седьмой симфонии Д.Д.Шостаковича явилось не только уникальным событием в музыкальной культуре, но и важнейшим социально-политическим событием. Исполнение 9 августа 1942 г. в блокадном Ленинграде симфоническим оркестром Ленинградского Радиокомитета под управлением К.И.Элиасберга по праву названо «первыми залпами по Берлину».

Проект призван способствовать сохранению в исторической памяти знания об одном из знаковых гуманитарных событий Второй мировой войны, укрепить имидж Санкт-Петербургской академической филармонии имени Д.Д.Шостаковича как созидателя подлинных духовных ценностей в современном социокультурном пространстве, укрепить межрегиональные связи музыкального, исторического и музейного сообщества посредством кросс-отраслевого сотрудничества.

Проект предполагает трехчастную «композицию»: конференцию, мемориальную выставку и – как ключевое событие – концерт Академического симфонического оркестра филармонии – бывшего Большого симфонического оркестра Ленинградского радиокомитета в Большом зале филармонии 9 августа 2022 г.

В конференции, посвященной Ленинградской симфонии в культурной памяти, примут участие музыковеды, историки-исследователи Второй мировой (Великой Отечественной войны), архивисты и музейщики различных регионов России. Основные темы – исполнение Седьмой симфонии во время войны и его значение, мемориализация памяти об этом событии, рефлексия на него, неизвестные документы о подготовке и премьерах произведения в РСФСР и за рубежом. Информационное письмо 

На выставке в фойе Большого зала, которая откроется 9 августа 2022 года, будут показаны уникальные экспонаты, многие из которых не экспонировались никогда: партитура, личная переписка Д.Д.Шостаковича, подлинные инструменты и вещи музыкантов и дирижера К.И.Элиасберга, – участников ленинградской премьеры, афиши, фото, и др., связанные с исполнением Симфонии в Куйбышеве, Москве, Новосибирске, Ташкенте, Лондоне, Нью-Йорке и, конечно, – в Ленинграде, которому будет отведено ключевое место в экспозиции. Таким образом будет «реконструировано» историко-информационное пространство бытования уникального явления, каким стала Ленинградская симфония, в отечественном и мировом культурном ландшафте.

В рамках проекта начнется подготовка иллюстрированной монографии, одноименной проекту, главы которой будут посвящены «географии» исполнения Седьмой симфонии и общественно-политическому резонансу от этого события в нашей стране и за ее пределами, а также месту Ленинградской симфонии Д.Д.Шостаковича в культурной и исторической памяти.

Финальным событием проекта станет концерт Академического симфонического оркестра филармонии в Большом зале с прямой трансляцией исполнения Седьмой симфонии в интернете и на радио: дань памяти подвигу ленинградской творческой интеллигенции, сквозь голод, холод и бомбардировки донесшей миру несокрушимую силу Искусства.

Автор идеи и куратор: Юлия Кантор, д.и.н., заместитель директора – главный научный сотрудник СПбИИ РАН

09
Августа, 2022
Вторник

Выставка

На выставке в фойе Большого зала, которая откроется 9 августа 2022 г., будут показаны уникальные экспонаты, многие из которых не экспонировались никогда: партитура, личная переписка Д.Д.Шостаковича, подлинные инструменты и вещи музыкантов и дирижера К.И.Элиасберга, – участников ленинградской премьеры, афиши, фото, и др., связанные с исполнением Симфонии в Куйбышеве, Москве, Новосибирске, Ташкенте, Лондоне, Нью-Йорке и, конечно, – в Ленинграде, которому будет отведено ключевое место в экспозиции. Таким образом будет «реконструировано» историко-информационное пространство бытования уникального явления, каким стала Ленинградская симфония, в отечественном и мировом культурном ландшафте.

09
Августа, 2022
Вторник

Конференция

В конференции, посвященной Ленинградской симфонии в культурной памяти, примут участие музыковеды, историки-исследователи Второй мировой (Великой Отечественной войны), архивисты и музейщики различных регионов России. Основные темы – исполнение Седьмой симфонии во время войны и его значение, мемориализация памяти об этом событии, рефлексия на него, неизвестные документы о подготовке и премьерах произведения в РСФСР и за рубежом.

Информационное письмо о конференции

Партнеры проекта

Генеральный информационный партнер проекта

Информационные партнеры проекта

Генеральный партнер Филармонии
Большой зал:
191186, Санкт-Петербург, Михайловская ул., 2
+7 (812) 240-01-80, +7 (812) 240-01-00
Малый зал:
191011, Санкт-Петербург, Невский пр., 30
+7 (812) 240-01-70
Напишите нам:
Часы работы кассы: с 11:00 до 20:00 (в дни концертов до 20:30)
Перерыв с 15:00 до 16:00
Вопросы направляйте на ticket@philharmonia.spb.ru
Часы работы кассы: с 11:00 до 19:00 (в дни концертов до 19:30)
Перерыв с 15:00 до 16:00
Вопросы направляйте на ticket@philharmonia.spb.ru
© 2000—2022
«Санкт-Петербургская филармония им. Д.Д.Шостаковича»