Persons

Alexander Tchaikovsky

composer

Biography

Alexander Tchaikovsky is a People's Artist of Russia, and from 2005 to 2008 he was the Rector of the St. Petersburg Conservatory. He graduated from the Central Music School at the Moscow Tchaikovsky State Conservatory and studied piano under Professor Heinrich Neuhaus there. In 1972, he graduated from the Moscow Conservatory with a double degree in piano under Professor Lev Naumov and in composition under Professor Tikhon Khrennikov. The composer went on to do postgraduate studies as a composer, also under Tikhon Khrennikov's guidance.

Alexander Tchaikovsky is one of the most prominent contemporary composers in Russia. Musical theatre plays the leading role in his career he has composed fourteen operas, three ballets, musicals and operetta. He has also written seven  symphonies, a series of instrumental concerts for piano, viola, cello, bassoon, four saxophones and other instruments accompanied by an orchestra, and, in addition, many choral, vocal and chamber-instrumental works. An Honoured Art Worker of the RSFSR (1988), the composer was awarded the Order of Friendship for services in development of the national culture, art and mass media and for his many years of fruitful music activity (2016). In 2017, he also won the Government of Moscow Award for Culture for his opera The Legend of the City of Yelets, the Virgin Mary and Tamerlan.

Alexander Tchaikovsky is a Professor at the Moscow Conservatory, where he is the Head of the Composition Department. Among others, he has taught composers Pavel Singer, Andrey Kasparov, Adrian Korchinsky, Alexander Pravednikov, Dmitry Ryabtsev, Alexei Syumak, Olga Alyushina, Kuzma Bodrov and Tikhon Khrennikov Jr.

Alexander Tchaikovsky takes great interest in working with young composers and holds many masterclasses, both in Russia and abroad. He is the Artistic director and inspiration behind the Youth Academies of Russia Music Festival; co-head of the jury at the All-Russian Composition Competition of Young Composers for Symphonic Orchestra, which is part of the Another Space International Festival of Contemporary Music; the Head of the jury at the International Myaskovsky Young Composers' Competition; and also the Head of the jury at the International Young Composers' Competition, which is part of the Yuri Bashmet Winter International Arts Festival in Sochi. The composer is the Artistic director of the Moscow State Academic Philharmonic and the Honorary Chairman of the Union of Composers of Russia.

Nearest concerts

06
September, 2021
7:00 pm

31
May,2022
7:00 pm
St. Petersburg Philharmonia Title Partner
Grand Hall:
191186, St. Petersburg, Mikhailovskaya st., 2
+7 (812) 240-01-80, +7 (812) 240-01-00
Small Hall:
191011, St. Petersburg, Nevsky av., 30
+7 (812) 240-01-70
Write us:
Box office opening hours: 11 am to 8 pm (on concerts days to 8.30 pm)
Lunch Break: 3 pm to 4 pm
Box office opening hours: from 11 am to 7 pm (on concerts days to 7.30 pm)
Lunch Break: 3 pm to 4 pm
© 20002021
Saint-Petersburg Philharmonia

Персоны

Александр Чайковский

композитор

Биография

Народный артист России, с 2005 по 2008 годы – ректор Санкт-Петербургской консерватории. Окончил Центральную музыкальную школу при Московской государственной консерватории им.П.И.Чайковского (класс фортепиано Г.Г.Нейгауза), в 1972 г. – Московскую консерваторию по двум специальностям – фортепиано (класс Л.Н.Наумова) и композиции (класс Т.Н.Хренникова), а также аспирантуру Московской консерватории (класс Т.Н.Хренникова).

Один из выдающихся современных композиторов России. Ведущее место в его творчестве занимает музыкальный театр – 14 опер, 3 балета, мюзиклы, оперетта. Им создано также 7 симфоний, серия инструментальных концертов для фортепиано, альта, виолончели, фагота, четырех саксофонов и других инструментов в сопровождении оркестра, многочисленные хоровые, вокальные и камерно-инструментальные произведения. Заслуженный деятель искусств РСФСР (1988), награжден Орденом Дружбы за заслуги в развитии отечественной культуры и искусства, средств массовой информации, многолетнюю плодотворную деятельность (2016), лауреат Премии Правительства РФ в области культуры за постановку оперы «Сказание о граде Ельце, Тамерлане и Деве Марии» (2017).

Профессор, заведующий кафедрой композиции Московской консерватории. Среди его учеников — композиторы П.Зингер, А.Каспаров, А.Корчинский, А.Праведников, Д.Рябцев, А.Сюмак, О.Алюшина, К.Бодров, Т.Хренников‑мл. и другие.

Композитор уделяет большое внимание работе с молодыми авторами, проводит многочисленные мастер-классы в России и за рубежом. Инициатор и художественный руководитель музыкального фестиваля «Молодежные академии России»; сопредседатель композиторского жюри Всероссийского конкурса сочинений молодых композиторов для симфонического оркестра в рамках Международного фестиваля актуальной музыки «Другое пространство»; председатель жюри Международного конкурса молодых композиторов им.Н.Я.Мясковского, председатель жюри Международного конкурса молодых композиторов в рамках Зимнего международного фестиваля искусств Ю.Башмета в Сочи. Художественный руководитель Московской государственной академической филармонии и Почетный председатель Совета Союза композиторов России.

Генеральный партнер Филармонии
Большой зал:
191186, Санкт-Петербург, Михайловская ул., 2
+7 (812) 240-01-80, +7 (812) 240-01-00
Малый зал:
191011, Санкт-Петербург, Невский пр., 30
+7 (812) 240-01-70
Напишите нам:
Часы работы кассы: с 11:00 до 20:00 (в дни концертов до 20:30)
Перерыв с 15:00 до 16:00
Вопросы направляйте на ticket@philharmonia.spb.ru
Часы работы кассы: с 11:00 до 19:00 (в дни концертов до 19:30)
Перерыв с 15:00 до 16:00
Вопросы направляйте на ticket@philharmonia.spb.ru
© 2000—2021
«Санкт-Петербургская филармония им. Д.Д.Шостаковича»