What's on

27
Saturday
8:00 pm

Borodin. Polovtsian Dances
Prokofiev. "Alexander Nevsky"
MacMillan.
6+

James MacMillan, modern Scottish composer, has been announced as the St. Petersburg Philharmonias composer-in residence for the 2021/2022 season. His compositions cycle will include three concerts, and the final program of the cycle will be conducted in February by the composer himself. The project is part of the international UK-Russia Creative Bridge 2021-2022 program, supported by the Department of Culture and Education of the British Embassy in Moscow.

The cycle opens on November 27: the St. Petersburg Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Alexander Titov will perform the Russian premieres of two works by MacMillan: orchestral fantasy Britannia (1994) and Larghetto (2009, orchestrated in 2017).

The program also includes masterpieces of Russian music - Polovtsian Dances from Borodin's "Prince Igor" and Prokofiev's cantata "Alexander Nevsky", soloist - Olesya Petrova (mezzo-soprano). The St. Petersburg Conservatoire Choir takes part in the concert.

James MacMillan is one of the most successful contemporary Scottish composers. He achieved widespread fame in 1990 with the successful premiere of The Confession of Isobel Gowdie in BBC Proms, Britain's largest festival. His Concerto for percussion and orchestra Veni, Veni, Emmanuel (1992) has been performed worldwide over five hundred times, in particular, by such prominent ensembles as the London Symphony Orchestra, the New York and Los Angeles Philharmonic, and the Cleveland Orchestra. The composer's other major works include cantata Seven Last Words from the Cross (1993), Quickening (1998) for soloists, childrens choir, mixed choir and orchestra, operas Inés de Castro (2001) and The Sacrifice (2005-2006), St John Passion (2007), St Luke Passion (2013), Symphony No. 5: "Le grand Inconnu" (2018).

James MacMillan has been a key figure in such major events and venues as Edinburgh International Festival (1993, 2019), Southbank Centre (1997), BBC Composer of the Week at the Barbican (2005), and the Grafenegg Festival (2012). James MacMillan's music interpreters include soloists Evelyn Glennie, Colin Currie, Jean-Yves Thibaudet, Vadim Repin, conductors Leonard Slatkin, Sir Andrew Davis, Marin Alsop, Donald Runnicles, and choreographer Christopher Wheeldon. His recordings have been released by such labels as BMG/RCA Red Seal, BIS, Chandos, Naxos, Hyperion, Coro, Linn and Challenge Classics.

The most complete official biography of the composer is available on Boosey & Hawkespublisher's website.
conductor
mezzo-soprano
Choir of the St. Petersburg Rimsky-Korsakov State Conservatory
Borodin
Polovtsian Dances
Prokofiev
"Alexander Nevsky" Cantata
MacMillian
"Britannia" for orchestra
Larghetto for orchestra

Supported by

Grand Hall:
191186, St. Petersburg, Mikhailovskaya st., 2
+7 (812) 240-01-80, +7 (812) 240-01-00
Small Hall:
191011, St. Petersburg, Nevsky av., 30
+7 (812) 240-01-70
Write us:
Box office opening hours: 11 am to 8 pm (on concerts days to 8.30 pm)
Lunch Break: 3 pm to 4 pm
Box office opening hours: from 11 am to 7 pm (on concerts days to 7.30 pm)
Lunch Break: 3 pm to 4 pm
© 20002024
Saint-Petersburg Philharmonia

Афиша

27
суббота
20:00
QR-код события

Бородин. Половецкие пляски
Прокофьев. Кантата «Александр Невский»
МакМиллан. «Британия»
6+

Современный шотландский композитор Джеймс МакМиллан в сезоне 2021-2022 объявлен композитором-резидентом Петербургской филармонии. Цикл, в котором прозвучат его сочинения, включит три концерта, планируется, что в феврале заключительной программой цикла продирижирует сам автор. Проект реализуется в рамках международной программы UK — Russia Creative Bridge 2021-2022 при поддержке Отдела культуры и образования Посольства Великобритании в Москве.

Открывается цикл 27 ноября: под управлением Александра Титова Академический симфонический оркестр осуществит российские премьеры двух сочинений МакМиллана: прозвучат симфоническая фантазия «Британия» (1994) и Larghetto (2009, оркестровка 2017).

Также в программу вошли шедевры русской музыки – Половецкие пляски из оперы Бородина «Князь Игорь» и кантата Прокофьева «Александр Невский», солистка – меццо-сопрано Олеся Петрова. Участие в концерте принимает Хор Санкт-Петербургской консерватории.

Джеймс МакМиллан – один из самых успешных современных шотландских композиторов. Широкая слава пришла к нему в 1990 году, с успешной премьерой сочинения «Исповедь Изобель Гоуди» на крупнейшем в Великобритании фестивале BBC Proms. Его Концерт для ударных Veni, Veni Emmanuel (1992) насчитывает более пятисот исполнений по всему миру, в том числе такими значимыми коллективами, как Лондонский симфонический оркестр, Нью-Йоркский и Лос-Анджелесский филармонические, Кливлендский оркестр. В числе других крупных работ композитора – кантата «Семь последних слов на кресте» (1993), Quickening (1998) для солистов, детского хора, смешанного хора и оркестра, оперы «Инес де Кастро» (2001) и «Жертвоприношение» (The Sacrifice) (2005-2006), Страсти по Иоанну (2007), Страсти по Луке (2013), Симфония №5 «Великий неизвестный» (Le grand Inconnu) (2018).

Джеймс МакМиллан становился ключевой фигурой таких крупных событий и площадок, как Эдинбургский фестиваль (1993, 2019), Саутбэнк-центр (1997), композиторская неделя BBC в Барбикане (2005), Фестиваль в Графенегге (2012). В числе интерпретаторов музыки Джеймса МакМиллана – солисты Эвелин Гленни, Колин Керри, Жан-Ив Тибоде, Вадим Репин, дирижеры Леонард Слаткин, сэр Эндрю Дэвис, Марин Олсоп, Дональд Ранниклс, хореограф Кристофер Уилдон. Его записи выпущены такими лейблами, как BMG/RCA Red Seal, BIS, Chandos, Naxos, Hyperion, Coro, Linn and Challenge Classics.

Наиболее полная официальная биография композитора доступна на сайте издательства Boosey & Hawkes.
Половецкие пляски из оперы «Князь Игорь»
(с хором)
«Александр Невский», кантата для меццо-сопрано, хора и оркестра
МакМиллан
«Британия», фантазия для оркестра (российская премьера)
Larghetto для оркестра (российская премьера)

При поддержке

Генеральный партнер Филармонии
Большой зал:
191186, Санкт-Петербург, Михайловская ул., 2
+7 (812) 240-01-80, +7 (812) 240-01-00
Малый зал:
191011, Санкт-Петербург, Невский пр., 30
+7 (812) 240-01-70
Напишите нам:
Часы работы кассы: с 11:00 до 20:00 (в дни концертов до 20:30)
Перерыв с 15:00 до 16:00
Вопросы направляйте на ticket@philharmonia.spb.ru
Часы работы кассы: с 11:00 до 19:00 (в дни концертов до 19:30)
Перерыв с 15:00 до 16:00
Вопросы направляйте на ticket@philharmonia.spb.ru
© 2000—2022
«Санкт-Петербургская филармония им. Д.Д.Шостаковича»