RU | EN
Contact
Order tickets
Title Partner

Orchestras

About group

While forming part of the Opera Company, the Bolshoi Theatre Chorus is a creative entity in its own right and occupies a page of its own in Bolshoi history. In the 80’s of the 19th century, Ulrich Avranek was appointed Chief Chorus Master and second conductor of the Theatre’s orchestra. Under his leadership, the Chorus attained a very high performance level and became known throughout Russia. Many composers wrote music specially for it. In conductor Nikolai Golovanov’s memoirs, he recalls that: “the splendid chorus of the Moscow Imperial Opera… had a great success in the capital, all of Moscow attended its galas and concerts”. At the beginning of the last century, the Bolshoi Theatre Chorus took part in Sergei Diaghilev’s Russian Seasons in Paris. As the art of staging opera developed, the Chorus became an active participant in all the Theatre’s opera productions. First-class musicians, the Bolshoi Theatre conductors and chorus masters Nikolai Golovanov, Alexander Melik-Pashayev, Mikhail Shorin, Alexander Khazanov, Alexander Rybnov, Igor Agafonnikov and others developed the artistic traditions of choral singing and enhanced the beauty, power and expressiveness of its sound. During a Bolshoi Theatre Opera Company tour of France, a Paris newspaper remarked on the very high level of the Chorus’s performance skills: “that, the public should force the chorus to give an encore during the course of a performance has never been witnessed before at the Palais Garnier or, indeed, at any of the world’s opera-houses”.

Today, the Chorus has 120 members. There is no opera in the Bolshoi Theatre repertoire in which it does not take part, in addition to which there are chorus parts in the ballets Le Corsaire, The Flame of Paris, Nutcracker and Spartacus. It has a vast concert repertoire, including works for chorus by Sergei Taneyev, Pyotr Ilych Tchaikovsky, Sergei Rachmaninov, Sergei Prokofiev, .and religious music. Since 2003, the Chorus has been led by Merited Artist of Russia Valery Borisov.

The Chorus took part in concert programs led by outstanding conductors, amongst them Gennady Rozhdestvensky, Vladimir Fedoseev, Alberto Zedda, Jiří Bělohlávek, Vassily Sinaisky.

Its performances abroad are always popular: in 2003, the Bolshoi Theatre Chorus showed itself to be in fine form during its tours, after a fairly long interval, of Spain and Portugal, under the leadership of Alexander Vedernikov. The press commented as follows: “…The Chorus is magnificent, musical with astonishingly powerful sound…”; “We draw your attention to the Bells cantata, a spectacular work, … which demonstrates the grandeur of Russian music: the chorus! We were presented with an example of superlative singing: intonation, voices, power, sound. We were lucky enough to hear a performance of this work which is little known here, a marvelous performance not only by the Chorus, but by the Orchestra too…”

In 2017 the French critics specially marked the “comprehensive and great chorus of the Bolshoi led by Valery Borisov” during the company tour to Aix-en-Provence.

In 2005 the Bolshoi Theatre Chorus was awarded with Special Prize of The Golden Mask for its works for Macbeth and Fliegende Holländer.

Nearest concerts

St. Petersburg Philharmonia Title Partner
Grand Hall:
191186, St. Petersburg, Mikhailovskaya st., 2
+7 (812) 240-01-80, +7 (812) 240-01-00, 064
Small Hall:
191011, St. Petersburg, Nevsky av., 30
+7 (812) 571-83-33, +7 (812) 571-42-37, 064
Box office opening hours: 11.00 am to 8.30 pm
, Lunch break: 3.00 to 4.00 pm
Box office opening hours: 11.00 am to 7.00 pm

RU | EN
Контакты
Как купить билет
Генеральный партнер

Коллективы

Хор Большого театра России

О коллективе

Хор Большого театра, являясь частью оперной труппы, сохраняет собственное творческое лицо, открывает свою страницу в истории Большого. В 80-е годы XIX века главным хормейстером и вторым дирижером оркестра театра был назначен Ульрих Авранек. При нем хор Большого театра достиг высочайшего исполнительского уровня и получил широкую известность в России. Многие композиторы сочиняли произведения специально для него. По воспоминаниям дирижера Николая Голованова, «великолепный хор московской императорской оперы... гремел в Москве, на его бенефисы и концерты собиралась вся Москва». В начале прошлого века хор Большого театра принимал участие в «Русских сезонах» С.Дягилева в Париже. С развитием оперной режиссуры хоровой коллектив становится активным действующим лицом всех оперных постановок театра. Художественные традиции хорового пения, красоту, силу и выразительность звучания хора развивали выдающиеся музыканты – дирижеры и хормейстеры Большого театра – Н.Голованов, А.Мелик-Пашаев, М.Шорин, А.Хазанов, А.Рыбнов, И.Агафонников и др. Высочайшее мастерство ансамбля было отмечено одной из парижских газет во время гастролей оперы Большого театра во Франции: «Такого еще не знал ни дворец Гарнье, ни вообще какой-нибудь оперный театр мира: чтобы во время оперного представления публика заставила бисировать хор».

Сегодня в хоре театра 120 человек. В репертуаре Большого театра нет оперы, в которой не был бы занят хор, более того, хоровые партии звучат в балетах «Корсар», «Пламя Парижа» и «Спартак». Коллектив имеет огромный концертный репертуар, включающий произведения для хора С.Танеева, П.Чайковского, С.Рахманинова, С.Прокофьева, духовную музыку. С 2003 года коллектив возглавляет Народный артист России Валерий Борисов.

За последние годы хор Большого театра выступал в концертах под руководством таких дирижеров, как Г.Рождественский, В.Федосеев, А.Дзедда, Й.Белоглавек, В.Синайский.

С неизменным успехом проходят его выступления за рубежом: в 2003 году после значительного перерыва хор Большого театра продемонстрировал прекрасную форму на гастролях в Испании и Португалии под руководством Александра Ведерникова. Пресса отметила: «...Великолепен хор, музыкальный, с потрясающей звуковой мощью...»; «Обратим внимание на кантату «Колокола», зрелищное произведение, ...которое демонстрирует величие русской музыки: хор! Нам был представлен пример прекрасного пения: интонации, голоса, накал, звучание…»

В 2017 году французская пресса особо отмечала «всеобъемлющий и грандиозный хор Большого театра под руководством Валерия Борисова» во время гастрольных выступлений театра в Экс-ан-Провансе.

В 2005 хор Большого театра за премьеры 228-го сезона – «Макбет» и «Летучий голландец» – был отмечен специальным призом жюри Национальной театральной премии «Золотая маска».

Концерты

Генеральный партнер Филармонии
Большой зал:
191186, Санкт-Петербург, Михайловская ул., 2
+7 (812) 240-01-80, +7 (812) 240-01-00, 064
Малый зал:
191011, Санкт-Петербург, Невский пр., 30
+7 (812) 571-83-33, 064
Режим работы кассы: с 12:00 до 19:00. Перерыв с 15:00 до 16:00.
Выходные: суббота, воскресенье.
с 10 июля по 3 сентября не работает. Билеты на концерты Малого зала доступны в кассе Большого зала
© 2000—2017, «Санкт-Петербургская филармония им. Д.Д.Шостаковича» Информация о концертах, прошедших в Филармонии в предыдущие годы